• Dr R Lewis

    Dr Rhian Lewis

    Immediate Past Chair

    Dr Lewis is a Consultant in anaesthesia and pain management at Ysbyty Gwynedd Bangor and has worked there since 1992 . She is the Clinical Lead for pain in Bangor and Co-Clinical Director for pain in the Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board. She is the Chair of the NSAG pain subgroup and a past Chair of the Welsh Pain Society. She is an FFPM examiner and very involved in teaching. Dr Lewis set up the multidisciplinary pain clinic in Bangor and continues seek to improve the service. Contact Dr Lewis

  • Dr Christian Egeler

    Dr Christian Egeler


    Having learned the basics of Pain Management from Dr Mark Turtle, I got appointed in Swansea ABMU HB in 2002 with a view of developing pain services there. 10 years later the ABMU service finally took off with a multidisciplinary and multimodal model, and I am lucky to work with a great group of dedicated pain practitioners from HCSW to OT, PT, Psychology and Nursing, along with outstanding GP, Anaesthetic and Neurorehab colleagues. My role in the service, apart from being the Lead Clinician, is mainly the interventional side of things (where my other interest, the regional anaesthesia under US comes in very handy) and I run MDT clinics with palliative care and brachial plexus surgeons. I hope to see pain services moving forwards to more integrated team services, with the necessary managerial support to make things happen, and to also see services in the whole of Wales collaborating and exchanging ideas. We are currently looking towards moving from the MSK directorate (which is being dismantled) into community services and it will be very interesting to see how that will work. I believe the WPS is a really important forum to drive developments but it’s success requires the input from everybody interested in Pain management, so I hope all the hard working practitioner colleagues from all areas will pitch in to make it better for everybody, most of all for the patients we aim to help. Contact Dr Christian Egeler

  • Mark Richie

    Dr Mark Richie

    Vice Chair

  • Non Griffiths

    Dr Non Griffiths

    Secretary and new membership point of contact

  • Dr Neeraj Saxena

    Dr Neeraj Saxena

    Dr. Neeraj Saxena is a Consultant in Anaesthesia and Pain medicine and the clinical lead for inpatient pain management at Cwm Taf University health board. He has led the development of and continues to be actively involved in the South Wales’ network of Acute pain teams (SwNAP). He is also a Clinical Senior Lecturer in Neurosciences at Cardiff University and has research interests in exploring mechanisms of pain and sedation. His clinical research focuses on improving clinical consultations and patient outcomes following clinical interventions. He is actively involved in GP engagement programmes to help better pain management in primary care while ensuring early appropriate referral onwards to pain specialists. Contact Dr Saxena

  • Dr C Middleton

    Dr Lyn (Carolyn) Middleton

    Co-opted Web site coordinator

    Dr Middleton is the pain service Senior Nurse within ABUHB, she works clinically as a non-medical prescriber. She is currently the project lead for restructuring back pain services within the HB in line with WG directives. Her doctoral research focused on opioid tolerance leading to her receiving two national prizes for her work, most recently the 2013 Royal College of Nursing Research Award. She has had many journal articles published along with a text book on epidural analgesia. Contact Dr Middleton



Information relating to the annual national Welsh Pain Society conference.


Welsh Pain Society, all of the latest news in one place.

Become aMember

Thinking of becoming a member? Find out more here.